Parent/Teacher Conference: Grade Level

Parent/Teacher Conferences

I’ve started this series, not knowing how long it will last, because I’m not sure how much longer we will be a homeschooling family, but enjoy it while you can! As a teacher in a public or private school, you have the luxury of consulting your coworkers and even administration to figure out issues related to the classroom. As a homeschooling parent, YOU are the coworker, teacher, and administration, and it can get frustrating trying to get a second opinion from yourself! Join in by commenting on the topic in the comments section.

 MomWearsManyHats

“Start them early! My ONE year old can read!”

“…Homeschooling is about letting the child lead, my 12 year old hasn’t learned to count and I’m fine with that.”

I really feel called to homeschool. There’s nothing in my life that I’ve felt this pulling and tugging on the heartstrings of so strongly. Despite my gut, we are sending V to a private Christian school right before Labor Day. I don’t know if I’m stupid, strong-willed, stubborn, oblivious, or just have childlike faith, but I purchased the My Father’s World (MFW) 1st Grade curriculum in June! We did MFW Kindergarten for the 2013 – 2014 school year and were ALL abundantly blessed.  This curriculum was a perfect fit for my little guy and I want to continue it.  My reason for calling this parent/teacher conference is because I’m not sure what to do next.  My mother suggested I do MFW 1st with V on the weekends and evenings, but part of the reason I enjoy homeschooling is because I don’t want my kids to feel consumed with school.  He just turned five, which means that the 2014 – 2015 school year is his true Kindergarten year, and if private school doesn’t work out, he can complete MFW 1st during the 2015 – 2016 and still be on track for graduating with his public/private school peers.  At first glance, this seems like the perfect solution right?  Count MFW K as his K4 year, his private Christian school for his K5 year and move on to first like most six year olds! That is reason number 2 that I like homeschooling.  When my child is ready to move on, he can!  If he can count to 100 by ones, we can move on to counting to 100 by twos, or counting to 200, or whatever else we feel is his next step.  We don’t need to wait until everyone else gets it or do things because that’s the norm for kids his age.  I worry that this year, he could be feeding his brain, and nourishing his soul at home instead of sitting stagnantly, listening to what he already knows, but I don’t want to school at home after hours, overwhelming him and extinguishing that fire he has for learning about God… for learning about everything.  When asking the usual homeschool forums, and Facebook groups I get answers like those above.  The extremely strict mother who begins a formal curriculum as soon as her child can sit on its own, or the relaxed mother who has an 18 year old that doesn’t know most things, because she’s let her child lead a little too much.  Of course I’m exaggerating, and while there are probably a couple people who are that extreme, that’s what it feels like to me.  Mothers telling me a 5 year old should not be reading and should only play, or mothers telling me their child was reading as soon as they turned 3, and I should school all day.

So parent/teacher, what would you do?

You can check out our Kinder year in detail HERE

FINALsignature

Leave a Reply

