Mommy Wonders Teaches: Common Core

Screen shot 2013-07-16 at 5.03.56 AM

I know that a lot of people homeschool to get AWAY from public school, but we are unsure if we are going to homeschool much longer than kindergarten or first grade and I want to make sure that my children are prepared to excel in any academic environment.  I am developing their curriculum based on the Common Core State Standards.  All but 5 states have adapted CC and -you’ve guessed it!-, Virginia (our state) is one of those states! We have the SOL which is one of the main reasons I’m keeping my children out of public school.  They (Administrators? Teachers? Politicians?) are so focused on the test and test’s results that they’ve forgotten there are 30 – yes THIRTY- little bodies in that room, eager to learn about this huge world around them.  Homeschooling gives me the flexibility to teach the SKILLS and INFORMATION the SOL tests for, instead of feeding my children the bare minimum to pass the test.   My favorite part of my early childhood education courses was designing curriculums, so I am truly excited about doing this.  🙂

FINALsignature

Leave a Reply

